January 10, 2013

January 10th, it turns out is a pretty eventful day in history.

in 1889 – Florida seceded from the United States, becoming the 3rd state to do so
Conflicts over the issue of slavery and its impact on the South’s economy, in addition to other reasons, led to a split in the Union. One after another, Southern states were seceding from the United States of America. On January 10, 1861, Florida delegates who were meeting in the state capital, Tallahassee, voted to secede from the U.S. Florida became one of the six original Southern states to form the Confederate States of America; eventually, 11 states would leave the Union.

In 1901 – Oil discovered in Texas

In 1920 – The League of Nations ratified the Treaty of Versailles, officially ending World War I with Germany, coincidentally, on January 10, 1920, The League of Nations held its first meeting in Geneva.

In 1946 – The first meeting of the United Nations General Assembly took place with 51 nations represented.

In 1949 – Vinyl records were introduced by RCA (45 rpm) and Columbia (33.3 rpm).
Stop for a second and think – today’s teens likely still know what vinyl records are, but will mine???

In 1951 – 1st jet passenger trip made and UN headquarters opens in Manhattan NY
I do not think these are related 🙂

In 1967 – PBS (the National Educational TV) begins as a 70 station network

In 1981 – The Gilbert and Sullivan musical “The Pirates of Penzance” opened at Broadway’s Uris Theater, starring Linda Ronstadt and Rex Smith.

In 2003 – North Korea announced that it was withdrawing from the global nuclear arms control treaty and that it had no plans to develop nuclear weapons.

In 2013 – Spencer shared his cold with his sisters.

And January 10, 2014 – Spencer Noah walked to me!  I was saying good-bye to Sidney and Spencer was with his teacher and she put him down on his feet and he took 5 steps to me!  (I saw the last 3).  I screamed and hugged him and cried, and cried, and cried!  My baby boy!  His smile was so enormous that it took over his face completely!  He did not do it again with me there.  Every time we put him down away from he, he would laugh and start racing towards me.  He looked exactly like the cartoon with the feet moving faster than the rest of his body.  And he was So proud of himself!  My little man, my boy, walking!

But he is still, and alwys will be, my baby boy.

Here is my first view of baby Spencer

and how I picture him when i picture his first days

and this morning, getting ready to leave for school

My little man who loves books, showing you his feet, nose and mouth, pulling hair, tickles, and removing his sisters socks.  Mr. man has a wicked/devious/demonic side to him.  He loves to sit on the arm of his chair, but we don’t allow it.  When he sees me, he stands up about an inch and gives me an innocent smile.  Then she he thinks I am not looking, he sits on the arm again.  When he sees that I can see him, he stands up again,m an inch, and laughs.  We do this over and over.  He loves it.  And in his defense, it is hysterically funny to me too!  But as the responsible mom, I am supposed to keep a straight face and look stern.  My man can see right through me every time.  And with his smile and obsession with hugs, he is likely to get away with everything!  I am so screwed.  Everything he does makes me proud.  I am proud when he takes off Sidney’s socks (she, however, is livid).  I am proud when he says shoes and holds his shoes up to his feet.  I am proud when he hugs his sisters.  And I am so proud of my man for walking all by himself!

Leave a Reply

