It is (occasionally) all right to cry

Emily is still obsessed with Free to be You and Me, and can now weave the songs into her day.  Last night I was making dinner and started by cutting up a shallot.  And crying.  Shallots make me sad 😦

I went into the family room to escape the shallot gas (is it a gas?) and Emily saw I was crying.  We talked about it and this is how our conversation ended.

Em: It’s ok to cry (and she gave me a huge hug)

Em: Mommy, Don’t cry

me: Em, you just said it’s ok to cry…

Em: It is, but not right now.

 

How do you argue with her logic?

Leave a Reply

