Sidney, my second tinkerbell

For nearly 25 weeks I have had two (outside) daughters and one son.  Everyone warned me not to compare the twins to Emily, especially in terms of development.  I have succeeded, sort of.  I do enjoy looking back at Emily’s posts from the same age, and every time I do, I need to remind my self that the twins were 5 weeks early.  At their 5 month check up, they got comapred to other 5 and a half month old babies, and to babies who were 4 months, 11 days.

Spencer, my son, my Mr. Man, my beloved boy.  He and I connected much sooner than Sidney and I did.  But that is to be expected, after all, I never knew she was born.  But I met her first.

Meeting Sidney for the first time – she was 26 hours old.  At this point I had not met or even seen Spencer yet.

Sidney and Mommy – her 3rd day of life.

Sidney and Spencer together. They were not together like this again until they came home.

Sidney was tiny – 4 pounds, 4 ounces.  And now she is a whopping 10 pounds, 15 ounces.  She is nearly able to tripod.  She has spent the past few weeks struggling, determined to roll from her back to her belly.  And this morning she did it for the first time.  The look on her face…  Sidney was so proud of herself!  But that is nothing compared to Emily, who was even prouder!  “Sidney, your first time!  You rolled over!”

That tiny little 4 pound preemie has always been determined.  She struggled at first to regulate her body temperature, but nothing was going to stop this little girl!  She got it and beat her brother home.  she struggled to roll over and got it this morning.  I believe that she will fight every obstacle, and win.   And why wouldn’t she?  Just look at what my 4 pounder has become.

Now, she is a tiny tinkerbell, just like her big sister

How is it that this tiny baby looks so cute in a size 5 dress that looks big on Emily?

Just like big sister, Sidney is thrilled to play dress up and the more tulle the better!

One of the three most magical smiles I have ever seen

Now, she and Spencer are together all the time

 

Leave a Reply

