Free falling

Yesterday we watched as Felix Baumgartner free fell from space.  It was amazing, but seriously, why?  Other than getting a new record and falling faster than the speed of sound, why?  And why does anyone NEED to break the sound barrier?  But it was cool!!!  And maybe that is why.  I was struck the most by the fact that he fell 24 miles and landed on his feet!  He broke lots of records, but yesterday I heard that he did NOT get the record for the longest amount of time free falling.

And that makes sense to me.

Because I think I hold it.

One of the questions I get all the time us, “how do you do it?”. Generally I just tell people that I do it because I have no other choice.  I am not going to give one back, so I do it.  I just do what I have to do.  But here is the thing, I have been free falling for 17 weeks now, so while I was impressed with Felix’s fall, that is nothing!  25 miles?  Try 17 weeks, and I am still going!  I don’t expect to land for another 20 years or so…

But our falls have been remarkably similar.

He had to start with a tiny hop to avoid spinning out of control.  I live my life on the edge of “out of control”.  Sure, you run into problems from time to time.  Your visor fogs up, your son gets reflux, you need someone to tell you which way the wind is blowing, or what day of the week it is.  We both rely heavily on an amazing support system.  But my rewards are so much greater than his!

Gorgeous Emily

.

multiples monday with capri +3 This post is linked to Capri+3, Multiples Monday. Check it out to see other blogs on multiples!

One thought on “Free falling

Leave a Reply

