31 weeks, names, and princesses

I know, I know, I know, you can’t compare pregnancies.  Every one is different.  And the last thing I want to do is “guilt” the twins, but WOW, this pregnancy is SO much harder than my pregnancy with Emily.  And yes, I know it is harder to carry 2, but wow….  We spend a lot of doctor appointments talking about and then testing for complications, but so far, thankfully, none have arisen.  WHEW!  I am classified as high risk, but my entire team (OB, MFM, peri…) are all impressed with how well the babies and I are doing.  And I can’t express how good/proud/relieved that makes me feel.

What helps even more is that there are a few OBs on my team that are trained to deliver baby A (always the one closer to the cervix, in our case baby boy) naturally as long as he is head down (he is) and then baby B (girl) breech (which she is).  When my OB told me this morning that she was one of the ones trained in this and had no problems doing it (as long as nothing arises, etc), I almost hugged her!  She knows I want to go natural (WITH an epidural!) and supports that, and I know that if she recommends (orders) a C’-section, that it is a medical necessity.  But right now, there is no reason to worry, everything is looking great – YAY!

At 31 weeks, the twins are basically progressing along the same rate as singletons.  Their job now is to grow, fatten up and most importantly, develop those little lungs!  At 31 weeks, each baby is about the size of a pineapple.  (ok, that feels HUGE to me!), is about 15.2 to 16.7 inches long and weighs about 2.5 to 3.8 (ours are 3.1 and 3.8 as of last week, right on track!).  Both babies are going through major brain, eye and nerve development and their irises can react to light.  And all 5 senses are working.

And they have names!!  Official, done (until I change my mind, but I keep coming back to the same names, so fingers crossed), names!  Oh and Emily has named them.  And that is the main reason for this post.  Yesterday morning I had the sweetest mommy moment!  Em and I were brushing hair and teeth (with different brushes each and for each purpose).  She then turned and hugged me.  This is normal.  Em is a BIG hugger!  We can;t get through a meal without 5 or 6 hugs and kisses.  But this one was different – she kept hugging my belly and saying “I love you babies”.  Each baby got a few kisses too.  It made my heart melt!!  AND, she named them!  Baby Boy is now named Blaze** and Baby Girl is (of course) Tinker Bell!

So we have 2 babies growing well, one mommy who needs more sleep, and one princess girl.

In her princess dress and with princess hair

This morning Em insisted on a dress and insisted on this dress because it is a princess dress.  When I suggested pig tales she got SO excited because (who knew?) that is princess hair!  She must have spent 10 minutes dancing and primping and jumping and admiring her hair in her mirror this morning.  Add in her princess umbrella for today’s rain and this is the happiest kiddo ever!  And in just 2 short months, the best big sister ever!

** Baby Boy was renamed to Terrance this evening.  For those of you not familiar with Blaze and Terrance, rest assured that it only means you do not have a 3 year old girl living in your house – they are Tinker Bell’s friends.

Leave a Reply

