Major Accomplishment

Dear Emily,

This is huge.  It literally JUST happened and I so badly want to wake you up and tel you, but let’s be realistic…

On May 16, 2007 I approached a publisher with an idea.  On May 31, 2007, he wrote back very enthusiastically and asked me to submit a proposal.  Then life happened and I slowly worked on the proposal.  Life happened some more and I added a co-author (one of my former students who excelled in the subject) and in December of 2008 I was put in contact with an editor at that publication house and the proposal was submitted December 29, 2008.  We got feedback from the editor and it was submitted in its final stages January 8, 2008.

In April of 2009 we got peer reviews from the editor and for the most part they were really positive (there is always one jerky reviewer in the batch…).

Then on July 13, 2009 (while you were secretly cooking away but we hadn’t told anyone yet), I got this email:

Beth, I’m delighted to let you know that the Publications Committee has approved the offering of contracts for your book and the terms are as follows.

 I listed a schedule of first draft due by November 15, 2010 and final draft by May 15, 2011 with a publication date of January, 2012.  It could develop faster than that but I wanted to build in sometime if you needed it.

I worked with my co-editor and we got more feedback from our publisher.

The book has 2 editions – the student edition which was due to the publisher May 15 (later adjusted to June 16 2011) and the instructor edition, due to the published in December as it will be made available to instructors online.

The student edition was sent May 12, 2011 (yes, we beat the original deadline!) and the instructors edition was sent today.

This evening while your daddy and I were cooking dinner I checked my email since the publisher is in California, 3 hours behind us, and I saw this:

Beth, this is really outstanding.  What you have done here is so thorough that it should be tremendously helpful to professors/instructors.  For those more experienced, they can pick and choose what they want but for the less experienced, there is a lot of information  that should be very helpful to them.

Emily I am over the moon right now.  This idea for this book came before your daddy and I even thought about having kids.  Your entire life I have been actively working on this.  And now it is done.  Finished.  The book is done.  Both editions.  Cover art has been approved.  Next step, we read it at bedtime.

In January.

2 thoughts on “Major Accomplishment

    • Thanks!!
      It is a compendium of teaching exercises for research and statistics classes and I can;t wait to see it on Amazon!!
      Also, your daughter is SO gorgeous and I love reading your stories 🙂

Leave a Reply

