for my sweet baby girl

Dear Emily,
Today is Saturday December 4, 2010.

You have been alive for:

647 days
1 year, 9 months and 9 days
92 weeks
15,528 hours
931,680 minutes
55,900,800 seconds

The world has been a hugely busy place during that time.  Here are just SOME of the things that have happened:

February 25, 2009 – Emily Rebecca S born
June 11, 2009 – The Swine Flu epidemic (you and I both had our H1N1 vaccines)
June 25, 2009 – Michael Jackson died
June 29, 2009 – Bernie Madoff convicted of the largest Ponzi scheme ever
August 8, 2009 – the first Hispanic (woman) was sworn in as a Supreme Court Justice
August 25, 2009 – Senator Edward Kennedy died
October 9, 2009 – President Obama won the Nobel Peace prize
January 12, 2010 – Haiti earthquake (by the way, Emily, we donated all your formula and pacifiers to babies in Haiti)
February 7, 2010 – New Orleans won the Super Bowl
February 12-28, 2010 – Winter Olympics in Vancouver
March 23, 2010 – Obama signed Health Care into law
April 14, 2010 – Islandic Volcano Eruption
April 20, 2010 – BP oil well explodes in the Gulf of Mexico
July 13, 2010 – Yankee owner George Steinbrenner died
July 31, 2010 – Chelsea Clinton got married
September 3, 2010 – Hurricane Earl
October 13, 2010 – Chilean Miners rescued after being trapped underground for 70 days
November 16, 2010 – Prince William got engaged (or rather, the news was released that he was already engaged)
December 4, 2010 – today marks the first day ever that you have not nursed.  When we put you to bed, you were not exactly thrilled with this arrangement, but we seem to both be getting through it.  I’ll be honest, I LOVE LOVE LOVE nursing.  and you love it even more!  I can;t some up with a good reason to stop, but it feel like it is time.  Part of me is happy that we have started down this road, but more of my is miserable, devastated and heartbroken.  But let”s take a second to commend both on us for 21+ months of nursing.  You have really only been sick (sick enough to miss school/see a doctor) twice.  Your doctor is constantly amazed by this.  Obviously I have super milk!  And I would not have had it any other way.  I know that nursing is just one of the best things I could ever do for you.  The long term and short term health benefits for us both are huge.  But I miss it already 😦
There is the (very) emotional part of me that feels like nursing was OUR thing. And really it was. Only you and I (and the occasional lactation consultant) could be part of it. No one else could give you what I was able to give you. No one else could be a part of that at all. Talk about job security! Promise me that there will be other things that are only for you and I and no one else. Because now that is gone. The one thing that could never be anyone but you and I is gone. I know you still need me and I know that I have not suddenly become expendable, but it still feels like something is gone.

This smile makes the world seem right though!
IMG_6744

Leave a Reply

