Potty training – the $82,000 adventure!

No, that is not a typo.  The 82 THOUSAND DOLLAR adventure!  You read it right.
I have been researching potty training devices lately.  It is early I know, but Emily has been talking about the potty a lot and she pats the lid and says poop, so I figure we might as well get her started.  My original game plan was to only deal with a little seat that goes on the toilet seat.  Let’s face it, I will clean up after a poop diaper and after a poopy cloth diaper, but I am not thrilled with the concept of scrubbing a little baby toilet.

So I did my research and settled on 2 possible toilet toppers (for lack of a better word).  Both are highly rated and both were strongly recommended by every circle of moms I asked.  For those of you looking into these products, they are the Prince Lionheart  and the baby bjorn toilet seats.

Which one did I get?

Neither.

I decided that even though I really do not want to clean a baby potty that it would probably be best for Em at this stage.  I just think that being able to sit down herself with her feet on the floor would be better for now.

So, armed with a Toy’s r Us coupon that brought the price down to what Amazon is selling it for and decided to go for it. 

Pretty boring post so far, right?

Yep. 

and you are probably still wondering about the $82,000.

So I take the ducky potty and my coupon to the register and the MANAGER rings it up.  He deducts my coupon and then I hand him an old gift card and I tell him that I think it was about 4 or 5 dollars on it.  He scans the gift card and says to me, "This card has $82,000 on it".

THIS CARD HAS EIGHTY TWO THOUSAND DOLLARS ON IT!!

But he didn’t say it like that, he said it all "matter of fact".    Like he wasn’t surprised or anything.

He scanned it again.

This card has $82,000 on it.

I am dead silent at this point and I am not even sure what to think, and I am pretty sure my mouth was hanging open, so I said the only thing I could say.  "OK, I ‘ll take the change in cash".

I think that was when his brain kicked on and he took the card to another register where it came up as having about $4 on it, just as I thought.

Damn, and here I thought I was getting $81 thousand dollars and change.

But Em now has a potty, or she will when D and I give it to her tomorrow, and that alone will be worth $82,000 in posts.  Stay tuned…

3 thoughts on “Potty training – the $82,000 adventure!

  1. I can’t believe it didn’t register with him right away! Wouldn’t it have been nice if it had been true.
    Good luck with the potty training. So far, no good with Sarah. Sigh.

  2. Oh yeah, we are no where near ready to start for real, but she is so into the idea of a potty. But she will only sit on it fully dressed. I tried tonight after her bath and she was NOT going near it!
    Once you get Sarah trained you’ll have to post tips 🙂

  3. That’s awesome! I want an $82,000 card.
    Also, I don’t think you’re too early. All my kids started sitting on the potty at 18 months. I do the seat on the toilet thing, cause I’m not scrubbing a baby toilet, I don’t care if their feet hit the floor or not 😉
    For what it’s worth, Cassie will be two this month and is almost trained. She is at least now telling us she has to go, granted, it’s about 2 seconds before she goes, but it’s progress! On my way to a single child diapered household!

Leave a Reply

