one week and one day old

After one week we are (hopefully) starting to adjust to all of this! Every day is a little bit better than the one before it – with the one notable exception of that one night when she insisted on eating every hour – every single hour all night long… And then the next day I was actually too exhausted to sleep and fairly miserable. But Emmy made up for it last night. The huge news is that she let mommy AND daddy both sleep at the SAME time! We even both slept in the bed! Yes, the sofa is insanely comfortable, but still, it is not the same as pillows and blankets and a mattress…. mmmm…. it was heaven! She got up a few times to nurse and that was it. She even let us sleep until 6am! I got up to see why she was so quiet (I know, first time mom syndrome, but come on, she has NEVER let us sleep for 4 hours in a row before!) and she was laying in her bassinet with those huge eyes wide open, just looking around. AND even bigger news – she was silent through the entire messy diaper change. And this little lady does NOT like diaper changes! Then she nursed so happily and went right back to sleep. Now we are not harboring any illusions that this pattern can ever continue, but we are sure enjoying it today ๐Ÿ™‚

Henny, in her last post, you asked why we called her out little monkey. When we first found out we were pregnant, my husband was so excited and kept asking if it would be a human baby or a monkey – he has wanted a monkey his whole life. So we started calling her a little monkey. He did check the ultrasound images for monkey tails, but, sadly, none… I think D is over his disappointment that she is a human and not a monkey but you should see the monkey collection she already has ๐Ÿ™‚

And now what you have all been really logging in for – pictures!

napping

Thanks auntie Jenn for the little bunny outfit! She loves to wave the bunny feet in the air and we get a kick out of seeing the little bunnies sticking out of the bassinet ๐Ÿ™‚

bouncy

Cautiously examining the penguins on her bouncy chair…ย  We think the verdict is all good.ย  The penguins seem to have passed the test.ย  Most likely because the toy bar has a snow globe thing on top that she seems to like.

swingย  Huge eyes
OMG we love those hugs eyes! And she loves her swing so much.ย ย  She finds a comfy position and barely moves, just relaxes and enjoys the swaying.ย  These pictures were taken a few minutes apart and she had barely moved at all!

6 thoughts on “one week and one day old

  1. Yay! Piccies! She’s beautiful (of course!). Still can’t wait to hear more about the birth when you’re ready to tell it. I have a pic of Max that looks almost exactly like that last one–their hands can be so expressive, can’t they? Not to mention the eyes. Wise beyond their years! ๐Ÿ™‚
    I’m SOOO glad the nursing is going so well–and the sleeping!! Yay! My experience was a nightmare so I really hope #2 goes better for us.

  2. Awwww!
    She is SOOOOOOOOOOO cute! OMG! Sounds like you are having fun :O) Except for the sleep and the couch part…par for the course I guess :O) I am finally back from my trip and almost unpacked….tired, but I am sure, not as tired as you :O)
    Jenn

  3. zOMG Beth… she’s so beautiful!!! *envious sigh*
    I really don’t want anymore of my own, but I’m just about ready for some grandbabies, I think. Neither of my sons seems disposed to humor me (thank goodness for them and any progeny they’d otherwise sire) so I have to get these vicarious fixes through my online friends. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Sweet baby. Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

