38 weeks

Our little pixie has been growing for 38 weeks now – 2 to go!  And at 38 weeks, she is the length of a leek, which, by the way is more than 19 1/2 inches, head to heel.  She is probably weighing in at about 6.5 pounds.

And what is she up to this week?

Your baby’s intestines have accumulated a considerable amount of meconium, which is usually eliminated shortly after birth.  Your baby might just scratch herself in the womb as the fingernails have grown over the fingertips now.  Baby’s lungs continue to mature and her brain and nerve function are working better every day. The latter two will continue to mature until she is a teenager.  Your baby weighs about 6½ pounds and is around 19 or 20 inches long.

D and I feel as ready as we can ever realistically be.  We are enjoying our time alone together, especially a romantic/fun weekend in NYC for Valentine’s Day, and looking forward to our first trip with baby.  This will be one well traveled kid, that is for sure 🙂  Her first trip is San Fransisco in August, and we cannot wait to take her to the parks our there!

I feel bad writing such a short update, especially for readers who we don’t talk to or see often, but there is really not much else to say. But stay tuned, I have a feeling that will change soon 🙂

15 thoughts on “38 weeks

  1. Yaaay! You’re so close! At this point, I’d already given birth to Max, so it’s literally ANY DAY! Hooray! I’m so excited for you! Have you got a plan for updating people? I know a friend who posted an LJ entry when she went to the hospital and then she had her husband put comments on it with updates (since it was easier for him to get to a computer). Or you could just bring the laptop to the hospital like I plan to. (heehee! I’m an addict!!).
    Can’t wait to hear about Pixie’s arrival!

  2. our hospital is wireless, but I am not even thinking of bringing the laptop right now. Then again, it is so close to home that D can always grab one if we want one. But to be honest, people may need to wait a few days, sorry 😦
    But my OB is actually saying I am more likely to go late than early, so stay calm until otherwise notified 🙂

  3. Yeah, I probably wouldn’t have brought the laptop for my first either, but since I was early, I had to finish up planning classes. It was such a nightmare–I was typing on tests in the delivery room! This time, since I will probably have a c/section and thus be in the hosp longer, I have already figured on having the laptop along.
    I will try to restrain myself and wait until you decide to let us know. *grin* Enjoy your time with the new one!!! 🙂

  4. I think I remember you telling me about that! I have one more lecture in one of my undergrad classes, potentially one more in the other (still waiting for my team prof to email me back that he knows I am out of the class!) and 1-2 more in the grad class. Everyone also knows that if I just don’t show, they are on, so I am not going to think about work after these last few lectures. Whew!

  5. until last night you could literally time my nighttime bathroom visits – seriously, every 3 hours like clockwork, so I have a tiny idea 🙂 (tiny, I admit, but I feel like it is something to start with!)

  6. I think the worst part isn’t getting up. It’s STAYING up until you can get the baby back to sleep. Or, of course, having the baby fall asleep and then realizing that you only have 20 minutes before you have to get up yourself!
    Don’t worry though. You’ll do great!! Do you have your labor preferences thought out and such? 38 weeks was when I always started to get nervous. If you have questions I’d be thrilled to help!!

  7. I can imagine!
    I decided not to come up with a birth/labor plan. I am so Type A that if i come up with one and don’t stick to it, it will throw me off. So I am better off putting myself in the hands of the doctors and nurses and doing what they tell me to do. But stay tuned for questions, just in case!

  8. I hear ya. I wasn’t too specific for the same reasons, but at least when I went to the hospital I could say…”No, I don’t want an epidural, Yes, give the baby the vitamin K shot. etc etc. You know what I’m saying? I’m around whenever you need me 😉

Leave a Reply

