34 weeks and our baby has a NAME

Weeks 33-36 (Month 8): Honeydew
Average size: 17.2-18.7 in, 4.2-5.8 lb

So at 34 weeks we have a honeydew melon and I can tell you that this little one has amazed my doctor with her measurements! At every visit, they measure my uterus to basically keep track of her size (since logic indicates that I stretch to accommodate her size…). The measurement should be within 2 cm of the number of weeks she is. So at 33.5 weeks, her measurement should have been between 31.5 and 35.5 cm. My uterus measures exactly 33.5! Go baby! I am so proud of her! The doctor was explaining the measurement to me actually said, “Wow, you won’t believe this one!” So cool!

And what is baby up to this week?
Your baby kind of looks like she’s coated in a layer of cream cheese these days. The thick, white substance that protects her skin from pruning in the amniotic fluid is called vernix. The soft fur, lanugo, that covered your baby’s body for much of her stay in the womb is now almost completely gone. Your baby begins to develop her own immune system, instead of relying solely on antibodies received through the placenta. This week, your baby measures about 17¾ inches and weighs almost 5 pounds, as heavy as a bag of sugar.

It is nice to know that when I see these measurement updates, I can be pretty sure that Pixie is about that size. So I am going on the assumption that she now weighs about 5 pounds.

And the other big news is that she has a name! And no, I am not sharing it, so don’t bother asking πŸ™‚ I actually knew this was her name for about a month now – maybe even more, but last night we had the actual conversation and did the analysis and overanalysis and debating and it is a name we both love, so there you go. Unless of course, when she is born, she has a name tag with a different name…. so stay tuned, I promise to tell you in about 6 weeks or so.

And, I finished more squares for her alphabet afghan:

A G N V

That A, in case you were wondering was HARD! I am now officially anti-alligators! But I had a lot of fun with the butterfly – I changed the dots so each is a different color and I love the way it came out πŸ™‚ The butterfly square is there because the afghan has 28 squares and there are only 26 letters…

I go back to work on Tuesday, but I only am only teaching this semester on Mondays and Wednesdays. The problem is that the classes are longer than the norm, and my longest waking stretch without needing to use the restroom is less than that. Hopefully these will be understanding students πŸ™‚ I am team teaching all my classes, so as soon as I say the word, I can leave, which is a great setup. I am very lucky to have such an understanding boss, whew! Cross your fingers that I have understanding students too!

2 thoughts on “34 weeks and our baby has a NAME

  1. We were pretty sure of Sarah’s name before she was born. So sure that I included it in the birth announcement I made up. And I missed changing it to her real name in one part of the announcement. Whoops!
    So don’t jinx yourself by typing it out beforehand!

Leave a Reply

