and, welcome to the 33 week mark!

Please say Aloha to our little baby pineapple! Doesn’t that idea just make your mouth water? I love fresh pineapple so much! mmmm… with honey and granola and maybe some yogurt on top! Wow, I have to say, these baby size food comparisons are good at making me hungry, now I wish we had a fresh pineapple in the house… when is pineapple in season anyway? I feel like it is harder to find good ones when it isn’t summer…

Anyway, baby is proportioned like a pineapple when it comes to weight — a little over 4 pounds and in terms of length, she is a little more than 17 inches, head to heel.

And what is happening in her little world?

The big news this week is lung development—baby’s respiratory system is almost completely mature. That means if your baby was born this week, odds are he’d be a healthy bouncing baby with a just a little help from his friends (aka, the NICU).

Your baby can now detect light and tell the difference between night and day. His pupils will constrict and dilate in response to light. If you shine a flashlight on your belly, your baby may shy away from the light. The bones in your baby’s skull are soft and are not yet fused together. This pliability allows the bones to overlap; making that trip down the tight birth canal possible. Your baby will continue to pack on the pounds gaining around ½ pound a week from here on out. Your baby weighs about 4½ pounds, as much as a grownup duck.

So the bottom line is that we have a little 4 to 4.5 pound duck – I love it!   And if you will indulge me in a little duck related trip down memory lane…

Daddy used to carry me in a backpack, and I, the ever musical and industrious child, would beat a tom tom on his head (which I am sure he loved on some level, but not all 🙂 ).  Anyway, Daddy tells this better than me, and this story is one of his favorites by the way, I was always in charge of holding the break to feed to the ducks.  So he would walk, with me in the backpack, down to the lake.  Then he would unload me and we would get ready to feed the ducks.  Any idea where I am going with this?  yep, without fail, I would have eaten the bread for the ducks!

2 thoughts on “and, welcome to the 33 week mark!

  1. A pineapple, wow. Don’t the spines hurt?
    Hey, are you a Monty Python fan? Or is D? “If she weighs the same as a duck, she’s a witch!” If your not, you should be 😛

Leave a Reply

