30 weeks even – 10 weeks to go!

WOW! Just wow!   10 weeks to go!  10 weeks?  But I feel like I have only been pregnant a few months tops.  I guess this means we have a ton to do!

So let’s start with what baby is up to – besides a LOT of moving and shaking. I am pretty sure she has had a couple of friends over and seems to have toys with her or something…

Big news for baby’s brain this week: It’s starting to wrinkle and fold and looks like something that grew in the back of your fridge. This is due to the rapid growth of your little genius’s brain cells. Fingernails and toenails are finally finished and the bone marrow is completely in charge of red-blood-cell production now. Baby is starting to shed his lanugo—the downy hair that was covering his skin, so now he is chubbier and better able to regulate his body temp. When your baby is awake, his eyes are now wide open and he’s whittling away the hours looking around, checking out his rather dark, limited environs. Your baby hasn’t gained much weight or height this week, as most of his energy’s been channeled to the brain. He weighs about 3 pounds and is approximately 15.5 inches long.

We are starting to seriously get ready for baby, although we are still struggling with a name – talk to D about this one… Baby’s furniture has been ordered (see a few posts ago, we are still in love with it!), and yesterday we ordered her car seat.  That was another headache.  Once we picked a brand and style, most of the patterns (except 2) were really ugly and frankly, every time we saw them live, looked dirty.  I like the solid colors on this one and even though I gave D another choice besides this one, in neutral colors, we both preferred this one.  And come on, it is pink!  On February 8th, we have an appointment with Darien Police to install it, so this gives us lots of time for shipping delays and problems 🙂

All we really need now before baby comes home, is to get the mini pack and play that she will sleep in for the first few months.  Yes, we caved and decided to get a pack and play, but only because of 2 reasons.  First, I FINALLY found one that was not hideous (why are baby patterns all so ugly anyway?  And if you want to see something really bad, check out Fisher Prices new line – warning put on sunglasses before clicking on link!).  Also, I found a smaller size pack and play with good ratings that will work well for us.  We don’t ever envision needing a full size one – enough people have one that we can use if we need, and this one will travel easily, so I gave in.  Besides, all the bassinets that we like got terrible reviews, so there you go…  We should probably also get something for her to wear. Oh and a diaper or 2 couldn’t hurt I suppose.

Speaking of things for baby to wear, D has that covered. He got her a little set of pajamas for Hanukkah! SO cute! they are absolutely adorable – teal with penguins and cups of cocoa on them and little grippy stars on the bottom.

To do:
childbirth class registration
CPR class registration
register at the hospital
look into day care
find a pediatrician
make a decision on cord blood baking

5 thoughts on “30 weeks even – 10 weeks to go!

  1. My $.02 on the pack-n-play is not to get the mini. We had borrowed a friend’s mini and Sarah outgrew it in a few months. We have a normal sized pack-n-play that we use at the grandparents’ houses and she’s almost too big for it, but I think she’ll last in it for a few more months.

  2. You know, that was actually a big part of our delimna. But we have a one story condo and I just really want a place for her to sleep for a month or 2 in our room. And with this condo, there is really no need for a pack and play to begin with. If we move, then we’ll obviously want one, but for now, we just can’t see the need.

  3. OMG!!! It’s so CLOSE!! I’m so excited for you guys!
    We found our pack n play was useful for when we spent the night at Grandma’s, and it was also good for holding toys. Other than that, yeah, not so much!
    I wish I was closer! I would so babysit so she didn’t have to go to daycare!
    Are you getting nervous yet?
    Also, re:names, Don’t panic, Rich and I named Cassie in the delivery room, you’ll know who she is when you see her.

  4. Yeah, I just cannot see how it could be useful – if we had an upstairs, maybe…
    I wish you were closer too – I would love to have you babysit! I am thinking a nanny for 6 months (when I first go back) and then day care for socialization, but we’ll see… I hate the idea of day care, but love my job.
    I am not really panicing, I am more feeling the need to get things done – like cleaning out the study and painting and stuff, but then again, I don’t want to do it too soon, just in case… Wow, my head is spinning.
    Give Cassie a hug from Aunt Beth 🙂

  5. Awwww, someone’s nesting!
    Personally, I’d stick with a nanny for as long as you can, 6 month olds aren’t about being socialized, 2 years olds, maybe.
    I don’t think it’s too early to start getting stuff ready, I think you feel less like doing stuff as you go on, just because you’re tired and everything is so awkward. You think it’s bad now, give it 8 weeks! I say get it done while you feel good!
    I have tons of pictures to post, but Cassie hit a growth spurt (growth spurt = no sleeping), the new furnance broke and somehow we ended up hosting Christmas Eve AND christmas. I just can’t wait until it’s over!

Leave a Reply

