24 weeks – a papaya for one more week

Since I had a lot to say yesterday, this post will be mostly development:
So what is baby up to this week?

Your baby isn’t just sitting around (on your bladder) doing nothing, he’s working hard preparing for life outside the womb—perfecting his lungs and packing on the pounds. He’ll gain ½ pound this week alone. Things are starting to get a little crowded inside the womb as baby grows bigger and bigger. Your ribs are probably pining away for the good old days when they didn’t have a foot permanently lodged between them.
Your baby’s ears are fully functional now. And since they are, you may notice that loud noises and sudden movements can startle the little bugger. He’s getting used to the everyday sounds inside the womb: the sound of your heart beating, your lungs inhaling and exhaling air, the growling of your stomach because your partner promised he’d be right back with that double cheeseburger and he’s taking forever! He’ll even be able to hear your voice when you talk to daddy. Baby’s got a fully developed inner ear now. This means his sense of balance is working and he can tell whether he’s hanging upside down or right side up. He can also feel you moving, so go ahead, pop in your favorite tunes and boogie. Your little Wiener schnitzel is about the length of a foot-long Chicago hot dog and weighs about 1 1/3 pounds.

I still haven’t had any cravings, which I have to say sort of sucks. I really wanted to send D out fr something at 2am… but then again, I also haven’t had any morning sickness or any of the other traditional pregnancy signs, so I am not about to complain! I do miss hot dogs and during those summer evenings, sangria sounded SO good! But that could be because I make exceptionally good sangria, if I do say so myself.

And now, picture time! is anyone wondering what is in my candy bowl at work?

Since we told our parents (finally I know), we are ready to share this news

M&Ms Yep, that’s right, even though I had absolutely NO intuition at all, it is a little baby girl!  amandalucy , that means a little gal pal for sweet little Cassie (welcome to the world again!),  and loomatic , I don’t know HOW you knew, but good going!  (Then again, you had a 50/50 shot πŸ™‚ ).  We do have a short list of names, but those are absolutely under wraps until there is a baby in the picture!  We just don’t want to deal with finding the perfect name and having people judge it negatively…  and you know someone will!  So for now we are just relaxing and enjoying this time while we (well, I) grow a little girl πŸ™‚

 

7 thoughts on “24 weeks – a papaya for one more week

  1. LOL I get weekly emails with the fruit/veggi size comparison and then I get the developmental stuff off another site. The first site is now changing veggies every 4 weeks 😦
    But I think last week the developmental site has her the size of a Harry Potter book

Leave a Reply

