23 weeks and stuck on papaya mode…

and that sucks, because I like checking the web site every Sunday morning to see which fruit I am on.  So this morning I get up early (but I am not sure exactly when because of the time change) and check the web site and I see this:
 

Weeks 21-24 (Month 5): Papaya
Average size: 10.5-11.8 in, 12.7-20.8 oz

So I guess we have 2 more weeks before the next fruit, which also happens to be a 4 week fruit.  Oh well…  It is slightly freaky that we only have 4 fruits left!  Doesn’t it feel like we should have more?

Anyway, what is baby up to this week?

Your baby’s got a while to go before her lungs will be ready for air and is practicing her "breathing" on the amniotic fluid—sucking it in and out of her lungs.  Fat production is in overdrive at this point. Your baby will basically double in weight over the next four weeks!   This little one is starting to look more like a newborn as the skin becomes less see-through. The body is looking more proportional now, although his/her head is still kinda big compared to his/her cute little body.   Your baby is about 11½ inches long and weighs 1 pound, or about the length and weight of a Harry Potter book.

I have a feeling they are referring more to book 1 than book 7, but either way, that is a cool reference, and better than stalling in papaya land!

Things on my end are good – except for the expansion (and yes, i am expanding!), I would never know I was pregnant – this is easy!  I feel terrible for all my friends with morning sickness, but not sorry enough to wat to join them 🙂  And really, although I am exhausted, that could be really mostly job related – I don’t think I am any more exhausted than any other semester.  I have even managed to expand my role at work and have started expanding my department.  It is also fun to give lecture in my Marriage and Family class now – I lectured last week on the choice to have children and then on parenting – this is getting to be so much fun!

I have started researching things like travel systems/strollers and cribs/furniture…  This will take time, good thing we stull have 4 months!  The good news is that our friends have already given us a ton of advice and when it doesn’t contradict (come on guys, have the same opinion about something!), it is being put to good use!  Thanks Guys!!

One thought on “23 weeks and stuck on papaya mode…

Leave a Reply

