awake obscenely early at 21 weeks

But at least it is a productive awake time – I am actually working 2 weeks ahead now!  I must have slept wrong because I woke up with my back killing me 😦  I got up and stretched and it felt better fast (whew, I have heard horror stories!), but now that I am up, I might as well get things done. 

So, at 21 weeks, what is happening and what is our fruit/veggie of the week?

By now your baby looks like a mini-version of what she’ll look like when she’s born. All her facial features are formed and hair is growing on her head. She’s even acting like a baby and will occasionally suck her thumb or yawn.   Baby’s heartbeat is getting stronger and can be heard using a good old-fashioned stethoscope. Ask for a listen at your next prenatal visit! By 21 weeks, fetal bone marrow starts making blood cells—previously done by the liver and spleen. This may not sound that exciting, but it’s good news.   The amniotic fluid that has been cushioning your little bean now serves another purpose: Your baby uses it to "practice" chowing down. Yes, it sounds gross, but it’s an important step for your baby toward being able to chow down in the real world. Your baby has been swallowing amniotic fluid for a while now, but now the intestines are finally developed enough that she’s absorbing small amounts of sugars from it. And let’s face it, being able to effectively digest sugar is important at every stage of life.  Your baby now weighs between 10 and 11 ounces and is approximately 7 inches long.

And drum roll please – our food of the week is a banana.  I am pretty sure, judging solely by my pants, that we are talking length not width 🙂  And of course now I want a banana – yum!  I remember mom used to slice strawberries and bananas and mix them up with sour cream – SO good!

I am starting to feel the baby move more and more – no kicks yet, just rolling around.  I really only feel it at night when I lay on my back, but maybe that is when I am able to shut out the world and concentrate?  I really felt it a lot during the last Presidential debate – I wonder if that means baby takes after mom and is a Democrat or takes after dad’s Republican tendencies?

Leave a Reply

