20 weeks today! Halftime!

So this baby is officially half cooked (half baked?).  Today is 20 weeks/5 months, exactly halfway through a normal 40 week/10 month pregnancy.  Today, our mango officially becomes a cantaloupe!  This, of course is making me want cantaloupe slices now… sigh, this power of suggestion is too strong for me.   And it only gets worse, because I have peaked down the list further…  Why couldn’t they say the baby is the size of a tire iron or something?  Because I am far less likely to want to chow down on a tire iron! 

I am officially "out of hiding"; because, really, there is no hiding this one!  Once the initial bloat went down, I was actually really good at hiding things, but no more!  And since all of my students have figured it out, why bother? 

So what is baby up to?  yes, that’s right, it is time for the weekend development update!   I really don’t have much else to report, but stay tuned, because baby is moving more and more, so I am sure my updates will eventually get more personal πŸ™‚

Your baby has established sleep patterns akin to a newborn now. Many babies even have a favorite sleep position already. Some snooze with their chins resting on their chests, while others nap with their head flung back. Many babies at this age fall into noticeable cycles of sleep and activity, so you may know before she arrives whether you have a night owl or an early bird.  If your baby is a boy, the testes have begun descending from the pelvis into the scrotum. If it’s a girl, her uterus is completely formed and the rest of her "parts" are in development.   From this point forward, your baby will put most of her energy into gaining weight! Right now your baby weighs approximately 10½ ounces and is about 6½ inches long.

OK, let’s take stock for a second, the baby weighs less than one pound and I have gained about 8…  That math may work for the doctors (who say it is perfect and maybe even a bit on the lower side of normal), but it seems odd to me!  I am used to a really flat stomach, so this is odd, but odd in a good way πŸ™‚

3 thoughts on “20 weeks today! Halftime!

  1. You’re just too cute with all the fruit cravings! πŸ™‚ I guess I haven’t ever found the same website with all the fruit comparisons. Worse, I’m not even reading my ivillage or other calendars this time around–i was obsessive about it last time. I guess since I am busy taking care of Max and trying to teach and get over whatever horrible illness I have…I haven’t had as much time to “think baby.” Anyway, I’m so glad things are going well for you! No one has guessed I’m pg yet but I have told a bunch of people. I’m DOWN 8 lbs since first getting pg, which is great for me, since I know I’ll gain it later. My weight is definitely distributed differently though! πŸ™‚
    Don’t forget to take those belly pix!! I wanna see my svelte little Beth with a baby bump!

Leave a Reply

