17 weeks, let’s spice things up!

 Well our avocado has grown into an onion.  And is still influencing the weeks menu options.  Where the avocado sized baby led to tacos (even though I could not find an avocado that was actually ripe to save my life!), this week, we are thinking about our favorite onion chicken!  This is the best, juiciest chicken ever – YUM!  (are your eyes watering from the onion scent?)

But anyway, things are progressing here – and starting to grow.  I can no longer sleep on my stomach – my favorite position!  I feel like a defective teeter totter when I try 😦  (no, I am not saying I am personally defective, I am saying that I would suck as a teeter totter).  And this makes sense since my doctor told me that I would be sleeping solely on my side by week 20.  So there you go.

Baby still loves oj, red meat, and tomatoes and has added apples to the list.  Thankfully this child loves healthy foods more than the non healthy ones.  He/She has also gotten me addicted to warm and hot water (preferably with lemon of course!).  Still no real cravings at all.  And no, still no intuition or even the slightest idea at all if this is a boy or a girl.  We have our Level II U/S in 2 weeks and we can find out then, but we are not sure we want to – at least not yet.

So what is baby up to?

Baby’s skeleton is hardening, changing from rubbery cartilage to bone, and fat is finally accumulating around it. Packing on the pounds is what it’s all about for baby this week. He’s adding fat stores that will keep him warm and cozy after he’s born. Your baby’s weight will increase approximately six times over the next four weeks.  Your baby is hard at work honing his sucking and swallowing reflexes! The finger- and toenails are beginning to grow from their nail beds, which would explain why he’ll need them trimmed almost as soon as he’s born!   Eyelids are now complete and cover the eyes which will not reopen until week 26

And before I leave you with the requisite picture of the onion, a quick shout out of good luck to MelyMel and her first u/s tomorrow – can’t wait to hear all about it!!

Leave a Reply

