14 weeks 6 days

But I am doing the 15 week posting now, because we have a lot going on tomorrow and Mondays are crazy at work.  So let’s just pretend we are already at 15 weeks, shall we?

So what is baby up to these days?
Baby’s head is now resting on his well-formed neck instead of directly on his shoulders like Igor. He’s beginning to grow eyebrows and eyelashes this week.  The hair on the head also begins to grow.  Although baby’s eyes are sealed shut, he’s now able to sense light. His eyes and ears finally look like real baby features now. As your baby practices sucking and swallowing actions, he may actually hiccup. 

Meanwhile we have gotten the bloodwork results from the NT Scan and they are fabulous!  The genetics counselor who does this testing was great.  She broke everything down very clearly for us.  We got the odds of have a baby with Downs, Trisomy 13 or Trisomy 18 based on age and the based on blood work.  Our results:

      Risk of downs based on age is 1/238
      Risk of downs based on b/w is 1/4,740!!

      Risk of Trisomy 13/18 based on age is 1/440
      Risk of Trisomy 13/18 based on b/w is 1/8,800!

The doctor kept saying over and over how great these numbers are so we are obviously thrilled!

And in case you haven’t gotten enough vitamin C lately, baby is about the size of a naval orange and I am really still waiting for that famous 2nd trimester energy spurt.

6 thoughts on “14 weeks 6 days

  1. Congrats on the NT testing!! That’s awesome!! I am very nervous about ours which is this Tuesday. I haven’t told anyone, but our initial ultrasound last week came back with a slight thickness in the neck fold which *can* be a bad sign. How long did it take your results to come back?
    Second trimester, wooHOO!!I’ll cross my fingers for the energy, but as amandalucy said, ya gotta take it easy on the work too, tough as that may be.

  2. I was kind of hoping the energy spurt would carry me through the crazed days at work! But I also just stopped progesterone which is supposed to sap energy (I am not sure I have noticed that), so we’ll see… But every time I feel like I am working too hard I think of you 🙂

  3. What was the neck measurement and was there a nasal bone? My doctor likes it below 3 and we were 1.7, which she said was perfect. We got our ultrasound results immediately and bloodwork in a few days (I just forgot to post them when we got them 🙂 ).
    Good luck !

  4. The neck measurement was 3, so yes, just like your doctor, mine said that was enough that the NT test was recommended (although for my “advanced age” we were planning it anyway). They didn’t say anything about the nasal bone so I have no idea, but that U/S was at 11 weeks so I don’t know if it was an issue then?
    Say a prayer for me on Tuesday at 10.30 (I’m going in alone–eek).

  5. Teaching is hard work!! I’m so looking forward to next week, Lucy will be at school for 3 hours 3x a week while glenn is in school! That means 3 whole HOURS to myself. sigh. Of course, I spend one of those mornings in Puppy Kindergarten, but that’s fun so it’s ok!
    I hope the energy hits soon!

Leave a Reply

